Looking for Something?
Posts Tagged for

Google+ updates

Disable Comments & Lock Posts Before Sharing on Google+

Author:

Ebby Amirebrahimi, an engineer on the Google+ sharing team, announced yesterday a new update for Google+ users.

One of the most popular features on Google+ is the ability to disable comments and lock posts to make sure no one re-shares it, but this could only happen after you posted.

Thanks to this new update and feedback from the Google+ community, you can now lock down and disable before you share to your Stream.

The team’s goal at Google+ is to continue to add features like these, which will help their users feel more secure about sharing on the new social network. He also shared they will continue to listen to feedback, as well as roll out new features in the coming weeks.

Here’s a video with Ebby of the announcement.

Do you find this new sharing feature useful and are there any other features that make sharing more secure you would like to see added?

You Can Now Ignore People on Google+

Author:

Google+ wants to make sure some of their features represent those real-life relationships we all have (you do have those right?), so they’ve introduced a couple of new options.

The new options are called ignore and block. So, just like IRL (in real life) you can choose who you connect with and who you don’t. I’m not sure if I’ve ever blocked someone in person, but I’ve been known to ignore a time or two.

Olga Wichrowska posted about these new options yesterday evening.

The Block option “limits the ways a person can interact with what you’re sharing”;  meaning you have absolutely no desire to have anything to do with them. They’ll be removed from your circles, they won’t be able to interact with you by commenting on your posts and you won’t see their stream.

The Ignore option means “you’ll see less of what a person is sharing”. In other words they are boring you, you’re not interested in what they have to say but you don’t mind them still interacting with your content.

Google+ says they will not let the person know you have blocked or ignored them, although I think the blocking option will become fairly obvious to them when they can’t interact with you.

If you change your mind about the person, you can always un-ignore or un-block them by going to the “More Actions” on the Circles page.

Google+ started the roll-out of these options yesterday, so keep an eye out for them. There are several different places to find both of these options on your Google+ profile, which are explained in the video below, as well as the transcript version here.

Learn About NMX

NEW TWITTER HASHTAG: #NMX

Recent Comments

Categories

Archives